Kite surfing in front of Turing Torso
© Carolina Romare
Ribersborg's beach, with Western harbour and Turning Torso as a backdrop, is a great place for kite surfing.

Schwindelnde Höhen 

Der Turning Torso ist ein vom Dekonstruktivismus inspiriertes Wohngebäude und der höchste Wolkenkratzer in Skandinavien. Er wurde von dem spanischen Architekten, Bauingenieur und Künstler Santiago Calatrava entworfen und basiert ursprünglich auf seiner Marmorskulptur „Twisting-Torso“, die einen verdrehten menschlichen Rumpf darstellt. 

Der Bau des 190 Meter hohen und 54 Stockwerke umfassenden Wohnturms, der aus neun würfelförmigen Blöcken besteht, begann Anfang 2001. Am 1. November 2005 wurde er fertiggestellt. Insgesamt verdreht sich der Turm von oben nach unten um 90 Grad. In den beiden oberen Stockwerke sind exklusive Konferenzräume untergebracht, die von Gruppen (ab 10 Personen) besichtigt werden können; im Sommer allerdings nur auf Anfrage. Der Westhafen bietet darüberhinaus weitere spannende Architektur-Sehenswürdigkeiten – auch von unten ist der Turning Torso ein echtes Highlight. 

 

 

Turning Torso
View Turning Torso from Ribersborg beach, Malmö's Copacabana.
Turning Torso
© Anders Bunkus
A close look at Turning Torso.
Turning Torso and Västra hamnen
© Anders Hjemdahl
Skyline over Western Harbour with the 190 metres tall Turning Torso.
Turning Torso och färgglada kanalhus i Västra hamnen
© Joakim Lloyd
Take a walk along the channel and the colourful houses in Western Harbour.

Der Westhafen

Der Westhafen (schwedisch: Västra hamnen) hat viel dazu beigetragen, dass Malmö als moderne und grüne Stadt wahrgenommen wird. Von hier aus hat man eine fantastische Aussicht auf den Öresund, und zahlreiche Restaurants und Cafés laden zum Verweilen ein. Der Stadtteil am Wasser, der von Einheimischen auch „Copacabana von Malmö“ genannt wird ist in wenigen Minuten vom Stadtzentrum oder vom Strand in Ribersborg zu erreichen. Wer Lust auf eine Partie Fußball und ein leckeres Eis hat oder den Blick auf Kopenhagen genießen möchte, kommt im Westhafen voll auf seine Kosten. In den Cafés auf der Strandpromenade kann man ausgiebig Sonne tanken und auf einem Spaziergang die Hausboote in den Kanälen bestaunen. In den ehemaligen Docks auf der Ostseite des Stadtteils liegen schmucke Jachten vertäut.  

Västra Hamnen
© Carolina Romare
Västra Hamnen.

 

Did this article help you?

Diese Artikel könnten dich auch interessieren

Ales stones

Ales stenar

Das geheimnisvolle Monument aus der frühen Eisenzeit besteht aus 59 großen Steinblöcken in Form eines 67 Meter langen Schiffsrumpfes und bietet einen wunderbaren Blick auf die hügelige Landschaft und das Meer. Der Ursprung der rund 1400 Jahre alten, megalithischen Schiffssetzung ist bis heute nicht eindeutig geklärt.
Weiterlesen
The Öresund Bridge

Die Öresund-Brücke

Die berühmte 16 km lange Brücke verbindet Kopenhagen mit Malmö und ist Schauplatz der Krimiserie Die Brücke – Transit in den Tod. Mit Auto oder Bahn kann man in nur 20 Minuten von der dänischen Hauptstadt in die größte Stadt Skånes fahren.
Weiterlesen

The tallest building in Scandinavia

Turning Torso
Carolina Romare
Kite surfer next to Turning Torso

The Turning Torso in Malmö is a neo-futurist residential skyscraper ad the tallest building in Scandinavia. The building was designed by Spanish architect, structural engineer, sculptor and painter Santiago Calatrava, and is based on on of his earlier sculptures ”the Twisting Torso”, a white marble piece based on the form of a twisting human being. 

The Turning Torso was completed in 2005 and boasts a height of 190 metres, consists of nine cubes with a total of 54 stories, with a 90° twist from base to top. The top two floors boast the exclusive meeting rooms of Turning Torso Meetings. The first sod was cut on 14 February 2001, and on 1 November 2005, this twisted tower was ready for occupation.

Since the building is a residential, the tower is not open to visitors for more than 3 weeks every summer. Although the tower is not open to visitors, many people go to the area to see the building and the part of town called ”The western Harbour”, an area that feature exciting modern architecture. 

 

 

Turning Torso
Birds and Turning Torso in the sunset over Öresund
Turning Torso
Anders Bunkus
Imagine the view from Turning Torsos windows
Turning Torso
Anders Hjemdahl
Skyline over Western Harbor with Turning Torso
Turning Torso
Joakim Iloyd
Turning Torso surrounded by housing in Western Harbor

The Western Harbour

The Western Harbour’s innovative focus has enhanced Malmö’s modern, green image. From here you can take in spectacular views of the Öresund Sound, and take your pick of fantastic restaurants and cafés. This new coastal district is within easy walking distance of both central Malmö and Ribersborg beach, known locally as the Copacabana of Malmö. Here, people play football on the grass and buy ice creams from Dolce Sicilia to enjoy as they gaze at the sea views. Stroll past the marina, the restaurant Salt & Brygga, and Espresso House with its outdoor seating area, sun loungers and design shop. Take a look at the houseboats on the canal, and then wander along the water’s edge. The Dockan area is now a marina for pleasure boats, surrounded by restaurants and cafés. 

Sun deck at Västra hamnen
Carolina Romare
Sun deck at the Western Harbor

Did you get helped by this article?

Others have also read

Ales stones

Ales Stones

Be awed by the aura of an ancient spot that dates back to the early Iron Age. This mystical monument consists of 59 massive boulders arranged in a 67 metre-long outline located 32 meters above sea level with a magnificent view over Österlen’s hilly landscape and the Baltic Sea. 
Read more
The Öresund Bridge

The Öresund Bridge

Now the star of a detective series, this famous 16 kilometre long bridge links Copenhagen and Malmö. Supporting both a motorway and railway, the Öresund Bridge makes the 20 minute journey a pure delight going from the capital of Denmark to Skåne’s largest city.
Read more